ICC Breaks Silence on LBW Decision in South Africa vs. Pakistan World Cup Clash

WhatsApp Channel Join Now

Following a contentious LBW decision involving Rassie van der Dussen during a World Cup clash between Pakistan and South Africa in Chennai, the International Cricket Council (ICC) stepped in to clear the air.

In the 19th over of South Africa’s chase, umpire Paul Reiffel adjudged van der Dussen out. A delivery from Pakistan’s leg-spinner, Usama Mir, struck van der Dussen’s pads as he misjudged the ball’s trajectory. While some onlookers believed the ball might have missed the stumps, the umpire had a different opinion, giving it out. Unsurprisingly, van der Dussen decided to utilize the Decision Review System (DRS), sparking a whirlwind of confusion.

Initially, the ball-tracking technology displayed that the ball would have missed the leg stump, but that tracking was quickly removed from the broadcast. A few seconds later, a different tracking was shown, this time indicating the ball was clipping the stump.

Both trackings agreed on the ball pitching in line and the impact being ‘umpire’s call,’ but they diverged in their final trajectory assessments. It’s uncommon for two different ball-trackings to be presented in DRS replays, and the second tracking was deemed the final verdict. Consequently, van der Dussen, already given out on the field, had no grounds for overturning the ‘umpire’s call’ on DRS.

This decision left van der Dussen incensed as he walked back with just 21 runs to his name. It proved to be a pivotal moment in the match, allowing Pakistan to claw their way back into the game, subsequently claiming the wicket of Heinrich Klaasen for 12 runs.

Moments after van der Dussen’s dismissal, screenshots of the contrasting ball-tracking replays went viral on social media. Fans were quick to cry foul, demanding explanations from broadcasters and the ICC.

The ICC promptly responded, acknowledging that the first graphic displayed during the LBW review was shown erroneously but clarifying that the correct information was eventually presented, leading to the right decision.

An ICC spokesperson stated, “In today’s match between South Africa and Pakistan, an incomplete graphic was erroneously displayed during the LBW review of Rassie van der Dussen. The completed graphic with the right details was ultimately displayed.”

The DRS system faced further scrutiny in the match’s closing stages when Pakistan pacer Haris Rauf had South Africa’s last batter, Tabraiz Shamsi, trapped in front of the stumps. However, umpire Alax Wharf ruled it not out, believing the ball was heading down the leg side.

Pakistan challenged the decision, and replays revealed that the ball was pitching and impacting in line. Due to Haris’ wide-of-the-crease angle, the DRS ball-tracking indicated the ball would have clipped the stumps. When ‘umpire’s call’ appeared on the screen, Pakistan players were left disheartened, as this not only denied them a wicket but also the match as it was the last South African pair.

Ultimately, Keshav Maharaj’s boundary in the 48th over secured a thrilling one-wicket victory for South Africa, propelling them to the top of the table while leaving Pakistan on the brink of elimination. The match’s DRS drama will undoubtedly be a topic of discussion among cricket enthusiasts for some time.

WhatsApp Channel Join Now

Back to top button
error: Content is protected!

Adblock Detected

Please consider supporting us by disabling your ad blocker!